“Looking for Alaska” on the big screen(?) and other potential YA movie travesties

As I lazily mosied around the internet worked today, I stumbled across some interesting information regarding John Green’s Looking for Alaska. According to the Internet Movie Database, Looking for Alaska will be made into a motion picture set for release sometime in 2013. But as per Wikipedia’s Alaska entry, Paramount Pictures shelved the project indefinitely due to lack of interest.

I have mixed feelings about this. First off, I’m insulted, Paramount! How dare you say there’s not enough interest?! Have you even READ the book, you illiterate mongrels?? I dare you to find another piece of literature that would be more worthy of your oh-so-precious moviemaking! *ahem* On the other hand, I’m rather relieved because I do not want to see the awesomeness that is Alaska be destroyed by Hollywood. (Have YOU read it yet? If not, PLEASE DO. You can thank me later.)

So while I was on IMDB, I did a little snooping to see if there were any other juicy gems out there. Let’s take a look at some other books that are (supposedly) going to become movies in the not-so-near future… Don’t hold me to these, especially since the production companies might suddenly decide to SHELVE THE PROJECTS (yea, I’m looking at YOU Paramount!)

The Perks of Being a Wallflower – Stephen Chbosky (2011)
Pride and Prejudice and Zombies – Seth Graham Smith (2011)
Uglies – Scott Westerfeld (2011)
The Mortal Instruments (based on City of Bones) – Cassandra Clare (2012)
Shiver – Maggie Steifvater (2012)
Heist Society – Ally Carter (2012)
Incarceron – Catherine Fisher (2013)
Maximum Ride – James Patterson (2013)
Vampire Academy – Richelle Mead (2013)
Dash and Lily’s Book of Dares – David Levithan and Rachel Cohn (2013)
A Great and Terrible Beauty – Libba Bray (2013)
The Maze Runner – James Dashner (2013)
If I Stay – Gayle Forman (Date TBA)
Fallen – Lauren Kate (Date TBA)

*sigh*

I don’t know about you, but I take the casting of movies based on YA novels very personally. Don’t even get me started on my reaction to The Hunger Games trio (although, admittedly, I’ve grown to appreciate Jennifer Lawrence as Katniss). So now I’m left to sit and ponder how the studios will screw up some of my favorite books of all time.

Thoughts?

4 thoughts on ““Looking for Alaska” on the big screen(?) and other potential YA movie travesties

  1. renpei says:

    The book was amazing. It made me sad when what happened to Alaska happened :C

    I really do hope they make it into a movie but I doubt it. The films been planned since 2007 and theres no progress on it yet.

    • Katarina Karenina says:

      Yea, at this point it looks like the possibility of a movie is dying a slow death. I think it has the potential to be an incredible movie if done right, but sometimes I wonder if it would be better to just let sacred things be ;)

  2. renpei says:

    Apparently paramount decided not to do it because of the lack on interest and im like “are u kidding/” cuz its a beautiful story and about 100k people like it on facebook and when people read the summary for the movie, they would also go watch it

Leave a Reply

